A long time after Google applied an identical function for its Gmail customers, Facebook stated that it will begin notifying its users if the system thinks that they are targeted by a state-sponsored attack. It means that, if the social network considers that a client’s profile has been either tracked or already attacked by a hacker working on part of a nation-state, the company will display a notice telling the user about the online strike and informing him to activate the “Login Approvals” – the additional protection system that further defends a Facebook profile.
With a sign-in approval, customers can stop others from using their personal or business account. After initiating this function, which acts like the other two-step verification techniques, clients are notified when their profile is accessed by a new system or from another online browser. When it happens, Facebook creates a protection code sent to the user’s phone, so only him or her– as the device’s proprietor – will be allowed to insert the code and continue to login into the account.
Preferably, this additional part of protection is an option that any Facebook client should have activated by default in the system, but many people simply do now know about the advantages of this security barrier. Another reason is that they do not want the stress of needing to get through an additional protection scan when trying to sign-in from new gadgets.
When describing their new alert message, Facebook’s security experts say that the organization has always implemented all necessary actions in order to protect the users who have been affected. However, now it has made the decision to display this new caution measure when it considers that an online strike is state-sponsored.
Facebook does that because such invasive hacking attempts are generally more innovative and risky than others, while the social network advises individuals to take any required measure to protect all of their personal and highly sensitive data.
Facebook has not revealed how it decides if a hacker is state-sponsored compared to another kind of cyber attack, but it declared that it will only display the pop up alert when it gathers enough proof that truly supports its results. In other terms, if you notice their alert message, you will have to do more to protect your Facebook profile. It is possible that your PC could be affected by viruses as well, this permitting the hacker to access it through a backdoor to your system.
Facebook suggests that users seeing its new caution message have to also take measures to restore or renew their devices, if necessary.
Image source: Securitylabs